My sweetheart has just started working out of town for 2 weeks at a time. That leaves me by myself with all 3 kids until he comes home. Thankfully, God has blessed us with an amazing new church family. So, I’m not really alone after all!

This morning, I drank my coffee (yes, I am pregnant and I still drink coffee) and began to read my devotional for the day. My memory verse for today is, “Whoever wants to be a leader among you must be your servant. – Matthew 20:26″.  That really hit my heart. It made me stop and think if I was setting the right example for my children. Was I showing them how to help others or just how to help themselves?

After nap time, I am going  to take them outside and let us clean the yard. Now,  I know that’s not really helping anyone else, other than myself. But, if I can show them how to help and do something with a humble heart, then maybe they’ll have that same outlook when helping others. If you’re not serving God with a humble heart, you’re only serving yourself.

It’s hard to raise my children in the way of the Lord. Simply because I know, at times, I am not being a mother with a humble heart. I let anger, frustration and negativity consume me; I forget to look at the little things, sit back, and smile. I forget to serve my sweet children with a humble heart.

This leads to my next challenge story:

 

#kidsarefunny

Thinking over all of the funniest moments I have witnessed from my children, it’s hard to pick which one to share. But, because motherhood can be funny and ugly at the same time, I wanted to share a moment that happened recently with my oldest daughter, Alicia (5).

She was having one of those, “I am a diva so I don’t have to listen to anything mama says” days. She was so ill about everything, and I MEAN EVERYHING! Her attitude became so aggravating that I just made her go to her room. At least there she could pop off under her breath and I wouldn’t hear it. That lasted a total of, maybe, 7 minutes.

She proceeds to start biting everything. By this time I am on the verge of just flipping my switch; Still, slowly, I kept breathing. Suddenly, she screams, “I’m gonna bite Amanda’s shoe!!!”   -Oh, little child of mine. Needless to say, she bit it.

The funny part: It rained the night before so there was mud stuck on the bottom of Amanda’s shoe. I’m sure you’ve figured out what happened next- it got in Alicia’s mouth. She, at the time, thinks that it’s dog poop! “MAMA!!! PLEASE, GET IT OFF, GET IT OFF!! *gag* I’M GOING TO THROW UP *gag*. MAAAAAMMMAAAA!!”. Crying, screaming, running around with her tongue hanging out- she’s in complete FREAK OUT mode! Just imagine. A kid with mud in her mouth, thinking it’s dog poop. *** I’ll let that image sink in***

So, just in case you’re wondering what I did. I laughed. Laughed so hard ’til it hurt!!  After splitting my sides, I calmed her down and explained to her that it was only mud and that she was going to be just fine. We got her mouth washed out, everything went back to normal. Even her attitude.

OUTCOME:

I humbly helped her- with love and understanding; because, I seen a glimpse of beauty in even the roughest of times.Though, she turned against me for a moment; She knew I’d be there, no matter what. The same as Jesus has done for me, too. Time and time again.

Forever & always.

-Kayla Diane

 

 

