Obviously, I am behind.

After church, yesterday, I had to return home and gather mine and the kids’ things. We were coming to stay with my Daddy so I could go to the baby doctor, today. My sister ended up watching my kids so I could be able to relax while at my appointment. I very much enjoyed the quiet time. Afterwards, my sister, the kids, and I went out to eat and spend some time together. I loved that even more, seems how I NEVER get to spend much time with my sister because we are both always busy. Sounds like a wonderful day, doesn’t it?

Let’s rewind all the way back, when the day actually began.

It was nothing short of irritating. As sad as it is for me to admit, I cursed under my breath and let anger consume my heart. It seemed like everything that could go wrong, was going wrong. My youngest was mad as a hornet, my oldest 2 were hyper, and I wasn’t able to get any sleep the night before. I had 1 hour and 30 minutes to get them and myself ready. Here’s how it went:  “Girls, I have your clothes laid out. Put them on, please. When you’re done, put your socks and shoes on.” Little did I know that getting them ready this morning, would be similar to baptizing a cat!! After asking them for the 1 millionth time to do something, my patience was GONE: “GET YOUR CLOTHES ON NOW! THEN GET YOUR SOCKS AND SHOES ON! DO NOT MAKE ME TELL YOU AGAIN!”…….then, I heard the most worn out excuse, “But, Mama. I don’t know where my clothes are.” – Oh good gracious.

“Come on, kids. We have got to go! Out the door, now. GO!” – Finally, we make it to my sisters house and I had to hurry and leave. Miraculously, I made it to my doctors appointment in the knick of time.

While I was sitting there, I opened my study booklet for Sunday classes. Reading over God’s word, I felt a rush of relief….and then guilt. I had become so angry that I allowed the devil to control my morning. Now, I’m not surprised everything went wrong. Had I started my morning off with Him, I’m sure things would’ve played out differently. The booklet was discussing how when people loose sight of the Lord, they turn away and do things that infuriates God, and they pay the price.

As I turned the page to continue reading, there I saw the key word, ‘Repentance’.-  Repentance is a genuine turning from sin toward God.

Clearly, I was on that chapter for a reason. For that, I am thankful.

 

You can’t shut the devil out if you’re holding the door open for him.

day 7: #momwins

I really don’t have a trophy in my “Mom Wins” cabinet. Maybe a few 1st alternates, but not any official mommy wins. So, instead, I will talk about my mommy losses.- that’ll maybe one day turn into wins.

Oh goodness, where should I begin? Most recent? Sure. I’ll cover all 3 of my children. Starting with Alicia.- I’ve had my fair share of losses with this child. More than I can count, really. Her attitude, is the worst loss of them all; thus far. She has become so hateful, especially when she doesn’t get her way. I choose to remain patient, though….or, at least I try. Ok, I instantly get aggravated.-being a Christian doesn’t mean you’re going to be perfect!  I lose my cool with her, more times than I’d like and in return- I feel guilty. I blow up at her sometimes, expecting her to know better. When, instead, I should be guiding her with the upmost patience. A LOT OF PATIENCE! Until I learn to quit losing my composure with her, she’s going to continue being a hot head. MOMMY LOSS #1

Amanda.- My biggest thing with this child is I feel that I am  over protecting her. I can’t help that! She is ALWAYS getting hurt; And, well, that hurts me! As her mother, I should be able to handle things like her falling off a chair, or running into the table, or jumping off the bed; But, because she’s so small- I am so afraid that she’ll severely hurt herself. Now I feel like she thinks she’s weak due to me always running to check on her. I don’t want her to feel that way. It’s just so hard, she’s my petite baby doll. MAJOR MOMMY LOSS #2.

Jacob- Eh, I haven’t really had a mommy loss with him- yet. The worse I’ve done is panic when he became so constipated that it was hurting him. I only panicked because I didn’t know- at the time. Once I figured it out, everything got taken care of and returned to normal. NOT SUCH A MOMMY LOSS #3.

I pray one day that those big losses turn into major wins.

 

day 8: #parentingquotes

  • “It is easier to build up a child than to repair an adult.”
  • “The way we talk to our children becomes their inner voices.”
  • “The days are long but the years are short.”
  • “Successful parents aren’t the ones who have never struggled; They’re the ones that never give up despite the struggle.”
  • “Your children will become what you are; So, be who you want them to be.”

These are just some quotes that really touch home with me. There’s not really any story behind them. Just a lot of heartfelt meaning.

 

Now on to another day and night full of mommy losses, quotes, the wonderful bible, coffee, and Jesus to get me through it all!

 

-Kayla Diane